Author Topic: New to Swansea....  (Read 2021 times)

MarkSantaCruz

• Piglet
New to Swansea....
« on: April 17, 2015, 06:03:33 PM »
Hey everybody! I'm new to Swansea having moved from West Wales 2 months ago to start a new job. Absolutely love it here and it's getting even better now the suns out for longer!

Haven't ridden properly this year yet bar a couple of visits to Brechfa, Afan and BPW so really looking forward to getting fit again. Having settled in I took my roadie for a blast last night to get the legs going again and just so happened to come across a few gents on some tasty machinery, so thought I'd hedge my bets and stop to pick some brains for some local knowledge......and here I am. Really helpful and friendly group of lads, I didn't catch all the names but Dom advised I get myself on here to see what's going on! Seems like I've been missing a fair bit of action on my new doorstep!

I do a bit of road cycling mainly for fitness but would really like to get back into the DH/Freeride/Jump kind of action.....although I'm not as brave as I used to be! I don't mind a bit of XC too as long as there's a few jumps/technical bits mixed in too!

I live next to the Liberty Stadium so was thrilled to be so close to Kilvey Hill, I went up there a couple of weeks back but couldn't find anything but a maze of tracks. I've been reliably informed now that I went up in slightly the wrong direction however a few others said it didn't exist anymore. I think I came down on the alpine anyway. As far as Clyne Valley goes I've never been past the map board at the bottom so have no idea what's up there at all.

Was planning on going to Afan jump park tomorrow morning but having spoken to the lads yesterday I think I might just go and try and find my way around Clyne a little closer to home! Literally have no cycling pals down here so would be great to hit up the trails with a few of you boys and get to know the place. Cheers and hopefully see you soon.

Mark.

Jon